politics and "the boy"
2004-02-29 - 11:58 p.m.

It's spring break for me! Yay! It feels good to be at home (my other home in VA) with my mom, my dogs, my full size bed, my TV/VCR & my Fubu-inspired bedroom. I'm so glad that I got a laptop and printer that I can fit in a suitcase.

Right now I'm watching the West Wing. I really wanted to watch it more on Wednesday nights, but I'm always in Bible Study when it comes on and my TV doesn't have a VCR so that I could tape it.

I am in such a political mood. I've been doing research for my state senators & local reps. here in Virginia as well as my state & local reps. in Queens. All of the state & local reps. in VA are white & conservative, while in my area in Queens, they are black and liberal. I hate the fact that Virginia is very conservative. A lot of things are catered to old, rich white people down here and after a while it gets really annoying. At least we had a black governor back in 1989 when I "technically" moved down here. (I never stayed an entire year in VA until 2001)

I still would like to be borough president of Queens someday. The job sounds pretty cool to me, and I know Queens like the back of my hand. I was born in Astoria and raised in Jamaica. Just about everyone in my family was born in Queens except aunt #1 which was born in Germany (my family moved to Germany in the late 1960s) & then my family moved back to Queens in the 1970s. I am also a product of the NYC public school system. I want Queens to be the place to be. I want to make it the illest place to chill & I want to get rid of as much crime, and poverty as possible. I want Queens to be just as good as Nassau & Suffolk County. I live on the Queens/Nassau border and when I crossover into the Nassau border from Queens it's like night and day. Okay, this is starting to sound like a campaign speech, lol.

Okay, it's only been two days and I miss "the boy" already. I was lying in bed watching TV and he's been blowin' my mind. I couldn't help but picture him lying next to me, coming up with rhymes while letting me lean on his lap while I look into his deep brown eyes. I told him that I would visit him at work on Tuesday before I leave to go back home. We'll talk more political talk, eat lunch together, read Ebony, Essence, and Jet together and then before I leave I'll give him a goodbye kiss that he'll never forget, lol. Heck, I won't be suprised if he comes up with a way to elope since according to him, "I'm his Bonnie & he's my Clyde" and he keeps singing that song to me on the phone. He even calls me his little Beyonce. How sweet of him. :)

Dumb Sprint doesn't let me know that I have voice mail. So I checked it today just to be checking it and one message came from Hawaii Boy on V-day since he was my Valentine and another came from "the boy" to see what I was doing. He sounded so fine on the phone that I saved that voice mail. I also saved a voice mail from way back when he was telling me what he was wearing when he got out of the shower & what he was about to do. He even made his voice sound really sexy . . . Man that voice mail made me want to run over to his house and get it on, lol . . . I never would've expected him to even be like that. I hate it when he teases me like that... let him tease me again and see what happens

Ok so I sent an e-mail to my delegate Glenn Oder because I was concerned with tuition at VA colleges going up every year. Here is the letter that I sent him:

Dear Del. Oder,

As a constituent of yours and a supporter of Virginia public colleges, I urge you to support a budget with nothing less than $200 million in additional higher education funding and $15 million for student financial aid. Both the proposed budget from the House Appropriations Committee and Senate Finance Committee halt the recent trends of cuts in higher education. Both plans show commitment to the issue and an understanding of the problem. However, we must have an increase in funding that can begin to offset the damage done in recent years. The Commonwealth admits there is a $400 million deficit in base adequacy funding, which causes class size to rise, course offerings to decrease, professors to find better jobs at other state schools, student debt levels to mount, and students to take 5-years to get a 4-year degree. Worst of all, underfunding means rapid increases in tuition. The $400 million shortfall in base adequacy works out to be almost $2,000 per student. Both budget proposals make up some of that lost ground. The budget from the House Appropriations Committee makes up $170 per student, while the Senate's budget offsets almost $450. After such devastating cuts, a $450 investment is the least the Commonwealth can do. Besides, each dollar invested in base adequacy means one dollar less that needs to be raised in tuition. Please support a budget the provides nothing less than $200 million in base adequacy funding for higher education and $15 million in new funding for financial aid. We can't keep balancing the Commonwealths budget on the backs of working students and middle-class families. The time for leadership is now!

Sincerely, Miss Lyte Sk1n QT

All he said was "Thank you and we'll keep in touch, Lyte". I want to know what he plans to do for public colleges in VA. If this guy won't tell me how he plans to help out VA colleges in the budget crisis, then I won't vote for him.

Okay, off to watching TV and dreaming about my boy... Have a good Monday everyone! :)

justified | stripped