so i went to the city today....
2004-03-05 - 12:51 a.m.

Right now, I'm so sleepy and I hate the fact that 2 of my nails are broke and it makes it really hard to type....

Anyways...today my fam & I went into the city. I haven't been in the city since '98. (1998 was a really good year for me in NYC for some reason, lol). We went to the Wax Museum on 42nd Street. The Wax Museum had all of these wax figures of certain celebrities and the celebrities were in different rooms (i.e. Bush, Kennedy, MLK were in a political room, Billie Jean King, Michael Jordan were in a sports room and there was even an American Idol room). This guy in the American Idol room was trying to get my aunts to sing (there was a karoake machine there) like they were auditioning for Simon but they refused. I took some pics with a whole bunch of wax celebrities like the cast of the Today show, Dubya and Colin Powell, Simon from American Idol, MLK Jr., etc.

After the museum, we went to the Red Lobster in Times Square. It was really nice and you know I enjoyed me some of those cheddar biscuits, lol. My mom even took a handful home.. black folks I tell ya, lol. This Red Lobster had 2 floors and fish tanks and they also had these really tight bathrooms with stalls that look like dressing rooms in a store. That restaurant was beautiful.

Oh yeah, I got my postcards for AZ and Hawaii Boy today. I also bought a magnet for the fridge that looks like a New York license plate, some bookmarks and a keychain for Goddess since she personally requested one. I shoulda got "the boy" a shotglass, but I'll give him a bookmark since he normally reads in his Bible in his closet at work all of the time.

God help me! I'm craving "the boy" right now. I tried calling him today, but he never picked up. I miss our deep convos, long hugs and I miss kissing him. I also miss him rapping to me too & keeping him company at work. However I don't wanna go back to VA either. When I go back to school next week, I gotta get ready for APO Sectionals (a conference for APO chapters in my area), I have 2 tests, and 2 papers due. This weekend better go by reallllllllllly slow.

Tell me why my mom told me in the subway today that she was glad that I went to VA for school instead of staying up here? She said that she didn't want me to live up here for the rest of my life and that I WON'T live up here for the rest of my life. How is she gonna tell me where I can live? She does not have any clue what God has in store for my future, especially since I really want to be involved in NYC politics in the next 5-10 years. So by the time I came out of the subway onto Hillside Ave, I almost started to cry out loud in front of everyone waiting for the bus. I just held it in really hard and I had this really bitter look on my face toward her. I have one more year in her house. One more year. I think that this year is gonna be a long year. I should also cherish this year since this will be my last full year in college too. I'm fighting back tears now b/c New York is my heart and the people accept me for who I am up here. There is sooo much diversity up here and I love being around people of different races. In VA, you're either black or white. When I first moved here, I was discriminated against b/c I'm very light skinned. (about Derek Jeter's complexion). People called me names and no one wanted to hang out with me. In Queens I didn't have this problem at all. Southern hospitalit y my @$$. I also don't need a car up here (I don't have one now) and I could never get tired of the city. I love this city sooo much. The South is too slow for me and I'm a very fast paced girl and it really irritates me when people imitate my accent in VA too.

I feel like running away with "the boy" after I graduate. He's ready to leave CNU for bigger and better things. He also wants to become a rapper so New York is a good place to start. I'm gonna try to steal his notebook and post his rhymes up here someday so u can see how lyrically gifted he is too, lol. I can picture myself being with him for a long time. The rapper and the politician.... yeah, lol. I know he can cook (he worked in a couple of restaurants), can clean (he does this right now full-time) and I know he's good in the bedroom (we're gonna have nice beautiful mixed babies with cornrows since we both wear cornrows & one kiss from him makes me melt)... May 2005 can u come any sooner so my dream life can begin?

Later on today, I'm going out to Long Island to Roosevelt Field and some shoe warehouse and then Wal-Mart b/c there ain't no snacks in this house. :(

I probably won't be able to meet anyone up here since I really need to bond with my fam (I haven't seen them in 2 years & I don't know when the next time I may be up here again)...sorry people, I would love to but it would be too complicated... but I still got mad love for ya...

Thanks to all my fellow New Yorkers who welcomed me back home... I really appreciate it!

I'm about to fall asleep to NY1... if I watch Channel 1 long enough, I'll be knocked out so have a great day everyone! :)

justified | stripped